Disability Resources Skip to main content

The Literary Southwest

Literary Southwest logo

Readings and conversations with the finest writers from the West and beyond: distinctive voices, diverse backgrounds, and multiple genres. All events are free and presented in person and via livestream.

Brought to you by Yavapai College Library.

Receive updates on
Literary Southwest events

Follow us on social media


Fri, Feb 24 2023 7 PM

An Evening with Silvia Moreno-Garcia 

Registration opens Jan 2023

Silvia Moreno-GarciaMexican by birth, Canadian by inclination. Silvia Moreno-Garcia is the author of a number of critically acclaimed novels, including Gods of Jade and Shadow (Sunburst Award for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic, Ignyte Award), Mexican Gothic (Locus Award, British Fantasy Award, Pacific Northwest Book Award, Aurora Award, Goodreads Award), and Velvet Was the Night (finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize and the Macavity Award).

She has edited several anthologies, including She Walks in Shadows (World Fantasy Award winner, published in the USA as Cthulhu’s Daughters). Silvia is the publisher of Innsmouth Free Press. Her fiction has appeared in numerous magazines and anthologies.

She has an MA in Science and Technology Studies from the University of British Columbia. She lives in Vancouver, British Columbia.

Photo by: Martin Dee

Call for Artists - The Mexican Gothic Visual Art Exhibition

The Mexican Gothic Visual Art Exhibition. Call for Artists! Submit before Feb 3

Artists who are residents or students in Arizona are encouraged to submit up to 2 artworks in 2D or 3D – painting, printmaking, drawing, sculpture, jewelry, videos, mixed media, etc.

Submissions are due on Friday, Feb. 3, 2023 11:59pm.

Author Silvia Moreno-Garcia will attend an opening reception for the exhibition on Feb. 24, 2023 5pm-6:30pm.


Fri, Oct 14 2022 7 PM

An Evening with T.J. Klune

TJ Klune Watch the recording

TJ KLUNE is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling, Lambda Literary Award-winning author of The House in the Cerulean Sea, The Extraordinaries, and more. Being queer himself, Klune believes it's important—now more than ever—to have accurate, positive queer representation in stories.

The House in the Cerulean Sea was selected for Yavapai College’s Riders Read program. Yavapai College's "Riders Read" program is a college-wide common read, where the entire campus community reads and discusses the same book. The goals of this program are to spark dialogue on issues of values and shared experiences among our students, faculty and staff; while modeling the kind of active reading and critical dialogue expected in college-level academics.


Like what you see on The Literary Southwest? Help the series continue to bring top literary talent to northern Arizona:

Donate to The Literary Southwest

Thank you!

Yavapai College Library presents The Literary Southwest is made possible by Yavapai College and the Yavapai College Foundation.

Program Director Jim Natal

New Literary Southwest Team

Ustadza White

Literary Southwest Program Director

James Rider

Technical Director

The Literary Southwest: Featured Writers 2008-2022

  • Kim Addonizio
  • Ralph Angel
  • Jimmy Santiago Baca
  • Dorothy Barresi
  • Beau Beausoleil
  • Marvin Bell
  • Sherwin Bitsui
  • C.J. Box
  • Gayle Brandeis
  • Ron Carlson
  • Ana Castillo
  • K. L. Cook
  • Bernard Cooper
  • Ann Cummins
  • Marsha de la O
  • Alison Hawthorne Deming
  • Natalie Diaz
  • Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni
  • Mark Doty
  • Camille T. Dungy
  • Geoff Dyer
  • B. H. Fairchild
  • Janet Fitch
  • Ben Fountain
  • Alan Dean Foster
  • Diana Gabaldon
  • Richard Garcia
  • Eloise Klein Healy
  • Steve Heller
  • Laraine Herring
  • Naomi Hirahara
  • Jane Hirshfield
  • Linda Hogan
  • T. R. Hummer
  • Sean Huze
  • Joe Ide
  • Tara Ison
  • Craig Johnson
  • Lisa Ko
  • Ron Koertge
  • Jim Krusoe
  • Ilyse Kusnetz
  • Laila Lalami
  • Susan Lang
  • Layli Long Soldier
  • Anthony Marra
  • Demetria Martinez
  • Domingo Martinez
  • Gerald McDermott
  • Christopher Merrill
  • Dunya Mikhail
  • Jane Miller
  • Manuel Muñoz
  • Sean Nevin
  • Naomi Shihab Nye
  • Tommy Orange
  • Susan Orlean
  • T. Jefferson Parker
  • Ivy Pochoda
  • Jewell Parker Rhodes
  • Alberto Rios
  • Sharman Apt Russell
  • Kay Ryan
  • Benjamin Alire Saenz
  • David St. John
  • James Sallis
  • Lisa See
  • Rebecca Seiferle
  • Rebecca Skloot
  • Tracy K. Smith
  • Arthur Sze
  • Susan Terris
  • Lynne Thompson
  • Laura Tohe
  • Peter Turchi
  • Brian Turner
  • Charles Harper Webb
  • Tara Westover
  • Terry Tempest Williams
  • Al Young
  • Ofelia Zepeda