Disability Resources Skip to main content

Instruction Committee

The Instruction Committee is a faculty standing committee.

a. Purpose

  • The Instruction Committee coordinates and promotes excellence in teaching, learning, and student success at Yavapai College.  The group activities include, but are not limited to, creating a culture of student success at YC, supporting innovative teaching and learning strategies, coordinating professional development activities for faculty that support improvements in teaching, learning, and student success, and making recommendations on policies and procedures related to student learning and success. 

b. Activities

  • Create and promote a culture of communication and collaboration at Yavapai College that improves student success through teaching and learning.
  • Support innovative activities for teaching and learning that positively affect student success.
  • Provide consultation and support for faculty for teaching, learning, student success and innovation.
  • Coordinate professional development activities for faculty within the College that support improvements in teaching, learning and student success.

c. Membership

  1. Eight faculty members will be chosen at-large during Faculty Association elections.
  2. Faculty will serve two year terms. These terms will be staggered so that no more than half of the committee members are first time members in any academic year.

d. Chair

  1. Coordinate efforts to improve teaching and learning at the College.


Members Area
Dr. Douglas Berry Provost
Gino Romeo - Co-Chair Verde; CHM
Mark Whitely Prescott; PSY
Laura Cline Prescott; ENG
Amy Bell Verde; BIO
Heather Leavitt Prescott; ECE
Kim Gould Verde; NSG
Sara Cooper Prescott; MAT
Kara Gianetto Prescott; NUT
Josh Hoover CVAG; CDT
Kelsey Rumsey Enrollment Advisor
Jodi Showler Advisor
Diana Dowling Asst. Dean of Student Services
Thatcher Bohrman TeLS Director
Stacey Hilton OIS Dean
Gavae Burton Student Advisor


In 2016, the GIFT Center committee became the Teaching & Learning Committee (TLC), and in fall 2022 it became the Instruction committee.