Skip to main content Disability Resources

Literary Southwest Series

Readings and conversations with compelling authors from the West and beyond: distinctive voices diverse backgrounds & multiple genres

Fall Schedule

All events held in the Yavapai College Library, Building 19, Room 147 (Susan N. Webb Community Room) ·
Free and open to the public

An Evening with Janet Fitch
Friday, September 20, 2019 - 7 p.m.

Author of the bestselling novels Chimes of a Lost Cathedral, The Revolution of Marina M., White Oleander, and Paint it Black.

An Evening with Layli Long Soldier
Friday, November 15, 2019 - 7 p.m.

Winner of the 2018 National Book Critics Circle Award in poetry and finalist for the 2017 National Book Award.


The Hassayampa Institute presents The Literary Southwest is made possible by Yavapai College and the Yavapai College Foundation, with additional support provided by Peregrine Book Company.

Author Janet Fitch

Friday, September 20, 2019 - 7 p.m.
Janet Fitch

Janet Fitch is the author of the best-selling novels White Oleander, an Oprah’s Book club pick, and Paint it Black, both made into feature films. Her recent novel,  The Revolution of Marina M., is set during the Russian Revolution, followed by her newly published continuation,  Chimes of a Lost Cathedral. Her short fiction and essays have been widely published in anthologies and journals such as Black Warrior Review, Black Clock, Los Angeles Noir, Room of One’s Own, the Los Angeles Times, and the Los Angeles Review of Books. She has received a Likhachev Fellowship to St. Petersburg, Russia, a Helen R. Whiteley Fellowship, and has taught creative writing at the Esalen Institute, at USC’s Master of Professional Writing program, and at the Vermont College of Fine Arts MFA program, as well as teaching regularly at the Squaw Valley Community of Writers workshops. Her popular Writing Wednesday writing tip videos can be found on her author Facebook page. She lives in Los Angeles.

Friday, November 15, 2019 - 7 p.m.
Layli Long Soldier

Layli Long Soldier holds a B.F.A. from the Institute of American Indian Arts and an M.F.A. from Bard College. Her poems have appeared in POETRY Magazine, The New York Times, The American Poet, The American Reader, The Kenyon Review Online, BOMB and elsewhere. She is the recipient of an NACF National Artist Fellowship, a Lannan Literary Fellowship, a Whiting Award, and was a finalist for the 2017 National Book Award. Most recently, she received the 2018 PEN/Jean Stein Award and the 2018 National Book Critics Circle Award. She is the author of Chromosomory (Q Avenue Press, 2010) and WHEREAS (Graywolf Press, 2017). She lives in Santa Fe, New Mexico and is a visiting writer at the Institute of American Indian Arts.

Program Director Jim Natal

Program Director
Jim Natal

Jim Natal helped found the Hassayampa Institute’s The Literary Southwest series at Yavapai College in 2008 and has served as series director since then. Prior to that he curated and co-hosted literary series and events in Los Angeles for more than 10 years. Natal is the author of five poetry collections, most recently Spare Room: Haibun Variations and 52 Views, both written entirely in the centuries-old Japanese haibun form. His previous full-length collections include Memory and Rain; Talking Back to the Rocks; and In the Bee Trees. He is a multi-year Pushcart Prize nominee whose poetry has appeared in numerous journals and anthologies. A former executive for the National Football League’s Creative Services Group in Los Angeles for 25 years, Natal received his MFA in Creative Writing from Antioch University Los Angeles in 2005. With his wife, graphic designer and book artist Tania Baban, he founded indie publishing house Conflux Press in 2003.


Kim Addonizio, Ralph Angel, Jimmy Santiago Baca, Dorothy Barresi, Beau Beausoleil, Marvin Bell, Sherwin Bitsui, C.J. Box, Gayle Brandeis, Ron Carlson, Ana Castillo, K. L. Cook, Bernard Cooper, Ann Cummins, Marsha de la O, Alison Hawthorne Deming, Natalie Diaz, Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni, Mark Doty, Camille T. Dungy, Geoff Dyer, B. H. Fairchild, Alan Dean Foster, Richard Garcia, Eloise Klein Healy, Steve Heller, Laraine Herring, Naomi Hirahara, Jane Hirshfield, Linda Hogan, T. R. Hummer, Sean Huze, Joe Ide, Tara Ison, Craig Johnson, Ron Koertge, Jim Krusoe, Ilyse Kusnetz, Laila Lalami, Susan Lang, Anthony Marra, Demetria Martinez, Domingo Martinez, Gerald McDermott, Christopher Merrill, Dunya Mikhail, Jane Miller, Manuel Muñoz, Sean Nevin, Naomi Shihab Nye, Susan Orlean, T. Jefferson Parker, Jewell Parker Rhodes, Alberto Rios, Sharman Apt Russell, Kay Ryan, Benjamin Alire Saenz, David St. John, James Sallis, Lisa See, Rebecca Seiferle, Arthur Sze, Susan Terris, Lynne Thompson, Laura Tohe, Peter Turchi, Brian Turner, Charles Harper Webb, Al Young, Ofelia Zepeda